Speakers Bureau

As a resource to help partner organizations plan programs related to the “She Changed the World” initiative, a core group of DNCR staff members are available to present on women’s leadership topics in many locations throughout the state. These speakers inspire and empower audiences, bringing their unique perspectives to a diverse range of topics.

To request a speaker please contact them directly at the information listed below. While there is no direct fee we ask the host to cover travel costs for the speakers. 

Speaker  Topic  Travels From Travel Limits

Ellen Brooks

ellen.brooks@ncdcr.gov

919-814-6847

State Archives Oral History Project presentation includes a selection of audio clips from previous women’s oral histories and explains how to get your own community involved in the project

Raleigh

Negotiable

Vera Cecelski

vera.cecelski@ncdcr.gov

919-620-0120

Stories of Stagville Women slide presentation detailing resistance and freedom-seeking among Stagville Plantation’s enslaved women

Durham

1-hr. drive time

Sarah Downing

sarah.downing@ncdcr.gov

828-296-7230 x.240

Reconstruction Aides worked in Veterans’ Hospitals following WWI. They developed the field of physical therapy and taught arts and crafts to patients

Asheville

2-hr. drive time

Adrienne Berney

adrienne.berney@ncdcr.gov

919-814-6641

Princess Quango Hennandonah Perceriah slide presentation explores a life of Baptist home mission activity and Pan-Africanism in a W.P.A. ex-slave narrative performance

Raleigh

2-hr. drive, + locations negotiable

Joy Greenwood

joy.greenwood@ncparks.gov

252-441-7132

 

Carolista Baum, founder of Jockey’s Ridge State Park Presentation describes Baum’s activism and legacy

Nags Head

NE NC, Triangle, + locations negotiable

Julie Thomson or        Lawson Osteen

julie.j.thomson@ncparks.gov;

lawson.osteen@ncparks.gov

919-383-1686

Women who founded State Parks includes conservation activist Margaret Nygard, founder of Eno River SP

Durham

1-hr. drive, + locations negotiable

John Moseley

john.moseley@ncdcr.gov

910-251-7342

Women's Air Service Pilots (WASPs) and the role they played in the training of the men stationed at Fort Fisher, where they learned to shoot anti-aircraft artillery during WWII Wilmington  negotiable

Heather South

heather.south@ncdcr.gov

828-296-7230 x.232

Women of Black Mountain College presentation features one of the 1933 founders and the farm manager during WWII, among other notable women

Asheville

2-hr. drive time

LeRae Umfleet

lerae.umfleet@ncdcr.gov

919-706-6376

Women of the Civil War slide presentation highlights women who took on risky or leadership roles during the 1861-1865 conflict, including spy Rosa Greenhow and even a mountain woman who cross-dressed and followed her husband onto the battlefield.

Greenville/

Bath

negotiable