Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Current Officers and Life Members

Officers are elected at each annual meeting in November. The officers for this year, as well the members of the executive committee who each serve three-year terms are listed below. A database of past officers is also available.


Office Name Term Ends

Dr. Chris Oakley

Chair and Associate Professor
Department of History

A134 Brewster Building
Easter Carolina University
Greenville, N.C. 28590
252-328-1025 (Work)
252-321-0921 (Cell)

November 2017

Georgann Eubanks

105 Jones Ferry Road
Unit T
Carrboro, NC 27510

November 2017
Director of the Office of Archives and History, Deputy Secretary of the DNCR

Dr. Kevin Cherry

Deputy Secretary for Archives, History and Parks
N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

4610 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, N.C. 27601

Ex Officio

Executive Committee



Term Ends

Dr. Jerry Gershenhorn

Associate Professor
Department of History

202C Edmonds Classroom Building
North Carolina Central University
Durham, N.C. 27707
919-530-7932 (Work)

November 2013

November 2019

Lorraine Hale Robinson

212 Metcalf Street
New Bern, N.C. 28562
252-638-5295 (Hone)

November 2014

November 2019

John Blythe

610 Creekstone Drive
Chapel Hill, N.C. 27615
919-929-1008 (Home)

November 2014

November 2017

Michael Hill

3702 Chimney Ridge #207
Durham, N.C. 27713
919-807-7290 (Work)

November 2014

November 2017

Dr. James Martin, Sr.

Department of History, Criminal Justice and Political Science

P.O. Box 392
Buies Creek, N.C. 27506
910-893-1485 (Work)

November 2014

November 2017

Dr. David Dennard

Associate Professor
Department of History

A-220 Brewster Building
East Carolina University
1000 East 5th Street
Greenville, N.C. 27858-4353
252-355-7381 (Home)
252-328-4364 (Work)

November 2012 (Re-Elected in November 2015)

November 2018

Martha Walston

2019 St. Mary’s Street
Raleigh, N.C. 27608
919-833-4569 (Home)

November 2012 (Re-Elected in November 2015)

November 2018

Tom Earnhardt

2533 York Road
Raleigh, N.C. 27608

November 2016 November 2019

Charlie Williams

7650 Wheeler Drive
Charlotte, N.C. 28211

November 2016 November 2019

Life Members

Life memberships are available to individuals only at a rate of $800. Memberships can be purchased online or by mail.

  • Bass Farms, Inc., Spring Hope
  • Mr. Jackson Bebber, Weaverville
  • Mrs. John Behnken, Newport News, Va.
  • Mr. Irwin Belk, Charlotte
  • Mrs. Karl Bishopric, Eden
  • Mr. and Mrs. Joseph B. Cheshire Jr., Southern Pines
  • Dr. James W. Clark, Raleigh
  • Mr. Walter Clark, Denver
  • Mr. James A. Clodfelter, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Mr. and Mrs. William N. Craig, Gastonia
  • Mrs. Julliette Davis, Greensboro
  • Dickson Foundation, Inc., Charlotte
  • Mr. and Mrs. Richard Dillard Dixon III, Edenton
  • Dr. John E. Dotterer, Edenton
  • Mr. Douglas C. Fraker, Franklin, Ind.
  • Mr. Thomas A. Gray, Winston-Salem
  • Mr. J. W. Grisham, Chapel Hill
  • Mrs. Joseph H. Hayworth, High Point
  • High Point University, High Point
  • Mr. George Watts Hill, Chapel Hill
  • Mr. J. Myrick Howard, Raleigh
  • Mr. and Mrs. Robert S. Hudgins, Charlotte
  • Mr. Jerome Janssen, Clinton
  • Dr. Thomas E. Jeffrey, Fords, N.J.
  • Dr. H. G. Jones, Pittsboro
  • Dr. Doris King, Raleigh
  • Dr. Richard H. Kohn, Durham
  • Mr. Marvin B. Koonce Jr., Raleigh
  • Mr. Calvin Battle Koonce, Raleigh
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jay and Judy Lester, Chapel Hill
  • Ms. Margaret B. Maron, Willow Spring
  • Mr. D.G. Martin, Jr., Chapel Hill
  • Ms. Elizabeth Buford and Donald Mathews, Raleigh
  • William L. Mitchell, Oxford
  • Mrs. Fred W. Morrison, Laurinburg
  • Miss Jesse R. Moye, Durham
  • Mr. Hugh H. Murray, Raleigh
  • Dr. Susan K. Nutter, Durham
  • Virginia Powell, Chapel Hill
  • Dr. William C. Powell, Fayetteville
  • Dr. Norris W. Preyer, Charlotte
  • Mr. Robert A. Ragan, Charlotte
  • Dr. Karen A. Ray and Dr. John L. Hill, Colerain
  • Mr. John Dillard Reynolds, Winston-Salem
  • Mr. William Neal Reynolds II, Winston-Salem
  • Mr. Richard Richardson, Chapel Hill
  • Mr. David T. Richardson, Vale
  • Lorraine Hale Robinson, New Bern
  • Mr. John Charles Rush, Raleigh
  • Mr. Robert G. Scruggs, Mill's River
  • Mr. George Shinn, Charlotte
  • Judge John W. Smith, Wilmington
  • Dr. Harry Watson, Chapel Hill
  • Ms. Elizabeth C. Watson, Raleigh
  • Mr. Bruce E. Whitaker, Murfreesboro
  • Dr. Pepper Worthington, Kinston