2015 North Carolina Award Nominations

The North Carolina Awards were instituted by the 1961 General Assembly, which acted on the idea of Dr. Robert Lee Humber of Greenville, State Senator from Pitt County. 

These prestigious awards, as set forth in the General Statutes, recognize “notable accomplishments by North Carolina citizens in the fields of scholarship, research, the fine arts and public leadership.” 

They represent the highest honor the State of North Carolina can bestow upon a citizen. Awards are presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to artistic and literary expression, scientific achievement, and civic leadership.

Award Categories

“These recognitions shall be known as the North Carolina Awards for Literature, Science, the Fine Arts and Public Service, and shall be conferred upon citizens of North Carolina for the most achieved during years prior to the award.” (NCGS §140A-2)

Individuals may be nominated in the following categories. Select a category to read about past recipients in that field, or click here to review an alphabetical list of all recipients.

  • Fine Arts
  • Literature
  • Public Service
  • Science

Awards Eligibility 

  • Recipients must have made significant, documented contributions to the State of North Carolina in one of the awards categories.
  • Recipients must have been born in North Carolina or, if originally from elsewhere, must be current residents of North Carolina.
  • Recipients must agree to attend the awards presentation to receive the award.

N.C. Awards Sponsors


N.C. Department of Cultural Resources
109 East Jones Street MSC 4601 |  Raleigh, NC 27699-4601
Phone: (919) 807-7300  | Fax: (919) 733-1620

Click here for information on transparency in State Government